Beauty

My first beauty review!!

And for some reason I am so excited about it.

It has to do with facial cleanser and how shitty some are and how so many people abuse theirs (*cough* you over scrubbers *cough*).

A little washing your face 101:

DON’T USE A HARSH SCRUB LIKE APRICOT SCRUB EVERYDAY.

Scrubs that are grainy like this one strips your skin of everything bad AND GOOD.  This can cause over production of oil leading to acne, breaking of blood vessels in your face and doing some serious damage making you age quicker.  No thanks.

DON’T WASH YOUR FACE USING A STRONG CLEANSER MORE THEN ONCE A DAY.

Especially in the morning.  You just spent 8 hours sleeping, allowing your face to produce good for you oils, why wash them all away?

My routine: I wake up and rinse my face first with warm water to open the pores and then rinse with cool water to close them.  Following that I apply my moisturizer with SPF.

Bing. Bang. Boom. Done.

IF YOU ARE REACHING FOR SOMETHING LIKE A GLYCOLIC CLEANSER ONLY REACH FOR IT AT MOST TWICE A WEEK.

Educate yourself on the products you are using!  Some shouldn’t be mixed; for example glycolic cleanser following with a Retin-A? Bad idea blond-y.

Okay i’m done lecturing, I could go on and on and on…. and, well, on but I will spare you.

On to some good stuff!

I never thought I had sensitive skin.  In fact I was one of the idiots who at one time was using a glycolic cleanser and a retin-a lotion at the same time.

Let me tell you what happened: I BROKE OUT LIKE A TEENAGE GIRL JUST STARTING PUBERTY.

And my poor skin was so sensitive to anything!  It was on a serious strike against me basically saying “F YOU AND ALL THAT CRAP YOU ARE PUTTING ON ME,” rebelling at any cost.

So I listened and put away the harsh chemicals I was applying to my skin, swapping them out for creamier, softer, natural products like the one I’m about to mention.

Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser with Cotton Extract

Burt's Bees

What Burt’s Bees claims of the product:

  • Softens and helps replenish skin’s outer layer with Cotton Extract
  • Gently removes dirt, oil and make-up without over drying or causing redness
  • Formulated with Quillaja and Yucca Extracts to help remove impurities without stripping essential moisture
  • Fragrance-free and hypo-allergenic
  • Allergy-tested and dermatologist-tested

(from the website)

What I am saying of my experience with the product:

First off I waited to write this review till I was completely out of this cleanser.  I wanted to use the entire thing which took about a month or so before I wrote what my sarcastic and slightly inappropriate mind thought of it.

It’s literally like you are washing your face with lotion.  Especially because I like to take 300 degree showers (which strips your everything of the essential oils you need, totally not recommended) this facial cleanser not only conditioned and moisturized my face, it  did what it said on the label, it cleansed my skin.

The Pro’s of this product:

TONS of moisture

Cleansing

Calming

I didn’t break out- at all.

Works great with your clarisonic if you have one

How I used the product:

Since I am a workout junkie I have to wash my face (which is usually done in the shower) after my workout.  This was the perfect product to use.  Like conditioner for your hair, I would apply this product to my face and massage into my pores for 30-40 seconds and then leave it on my face as I washed my body.

Or

At night before I would go to bed I would do a pre-wash with Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser to get rid of the make up and then apply with the clarisonic massaging the ‘medicine’ deeper into my pores.

Any questions? Comments? Have you tried this product?

TELL ME!

xx

JB

Places to purchase:

Ulta

Burt’s Bees

Target

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

